Kyle Michael – Under The Helmet

With the beginning of the 2016 regular season right around the corner, we begin our Under The Helmet segments by getting to know one of the best defenders this program has ever seen. Kyle Michael has made a tremendous impact from the moment he stepped on campus. Always reliable, always giving every ounce of effort he’s got. KM, as everyone knows him, earned All Conference Honorable Mention LSM last year as a Junior. Despite playing mostly close defense, the Pilots rely on KM to lock down the opponents more prolific offensive threat. Kyle leads by example both on and off the field, so let’s get to know him a little bit better.

Quick Facts:
Full Name: Kyle Michael “KM”
Date of Birth: August 1, 1993
Hometown: Golden, Colorado
Year in school: Senior
Major: Electrical Engineer

Position: Defense
Jersey Number: 30

Getting to you know KM:

Q: What is your favorite Food?
A: My dad’s spaghetti.

Q:  Who is your go-to musical artist?
A: Linkin Park

Q:  Favorite movie? Why?
A: Lord of the Rings Trilogy. I am a big fantasy nerd!

Q:  What is your favorite eatery around the University of Portland?  What do you usually order?
A:  Thai Ginger. Chicken Pad Thai with a side of rice.

Q: When did you start playing lacrosse?  What was your initial motivation?
A: Freshman year of high school. A friend convinced me to give it a try and it was a break from basketball.

Q: What has been one of your greatest accomplishments as an athlete?
A: Receiving Honorable Mention All-Conference LSM.
Q: Describe an embarrassing athletic moment.
A: When I was first learning the rules of lacrosse I was confused about the rule for the broken equipment. One game my shoe came off and I didn’t know what to do. I stopped, pondered for a moment, then dropped my stick and ran off the field, one shoe missing.
Q: When are you the most nervous while you are competing?
A: The nerves start during the warm up lap. They start to build during stretches and the rest of warm-ups, till they reach their peak during the introductions. However, as soon as the whistle blows they all go away and it is time to go to work.

Q: Which game are most looking forward to this season? Why?
A: Western Washington. To get payback for the championship game last year.

Q: How would you give away $50,000?
A: Wounded Warrior Project because we owe our veterans so much.

Q: If you could have super power, what would it be?
A: I have always wanted to fly!
Q:  What would be your dream job, and why?
A:  Fly the A-10 Thunderbolt II for the United States Air Force. I have always dreamed of being a pilot since I was in third grade. I am currently working to make this dream a reality and will find out if I got a pilot slot for the Air Force in February of this year.

