Under the Helmet: Tyler Mills

We know, we know, you need your fix of Under the Helmet.  Well, here you go!

This week our focus is on a seasoned veteran of the game, Mr. Tyler Mills.  He keeps his emotions in check on the field, but time and time again opponents have become victim to his ruthless checks the moment his quiet demeanor is taken as a sign of weakness.  This guy does everything.  He’ll snag ten ground balls in a single game and just when you think that was impressive enough, you’ll watch the game film and it turns out he also had two assists and five take away checks.  An all around solid player, the squad will look to Tyler for on-field leadership and experience to steer the ship in the right direction.  If you find yourself on the sideline for a game this season, keep your eyes on #6, you will not be disappointed.  Now lets take a closer look at what Tyler brings to the Pilots team off the field.

Full Name: Tyler Gordon Mills
Date of Birth: March 15,1992
Hometown: Sammamish, WA
Year: Senior
Major: Finance
Position: D/LSM
Jersey Number: 6

 tyler mills 1
Q: What is your favorite Food?
A: Steak cooked medium-rare and potatoes.
Q:  Who is your go-to musical artist?
A: Zac Brown and Eminem

Q:  Favorite movie? Why?
A: Fox and the Hound, because I like Tod (the fox). Also Blazing Saddles.

Q:  What is your favorite eatery around the University of Portland?
A: Eastside Deli 

Q: When did you start playing lacrosse?  What was your initial motivation?
A: I started playing in the 7th grade because I quit little league and my friend told me you got to hit people with sticks in this sport. That sounded pretty fun to me.

Q: What has been one of your greatest accomplishments as an athlete?
A: When we win our conference this year, it’ll be that. Until then, probably honorable mention all-american or one of the all conference (PNCLL) teams. 

Q: Describe an embarrassing athletic moment.
A: Against Portland State University two years ago I tried hitting a guy that was 6’6″ 250 and it didn’t work out well for me. I got lit up and it didn’t even kind of slow him down.

Q: When are you the most nervous while you are competing?
A: During the pregame lineup, once we start playing any nerves just go away.

Q: What other sport would you like to compete in if you were not playing lacrosse, and why?
A: Golf. I play now but if I spent more time doing that and less at lacrosse maybe I’d be better at it which would be pretty cool.

Q: How would you give away $50,000?
A: I’d find a charity that gives aid to families that have a child with Down Syndrome or even create one of my own.  My sister has Down Syndrome and it can cost a lot of money to give the kids the resources they need to keep up in school as well as participate in sports and other activities that allow them to be treated as if they are just like everyone else. 

Q: If you could have super power, what would it be?
A: I’d want to fly because I hate planes and then I could avoid using them.

Q:  Where do you see yourself in 5 years?
A: I hope to have a successful career and coach lacrosse at some level.

Keep checking back for more Under the Helmet.  Pretty soon we’ll be on to our junior class, and you definitely don’t want to miss that.
